Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow

image1

Yesterday we participated in Carerra Por El FH for the third time. It was created by an inspiring fibular hemimelia mom I have come to know and love. She and I both appreciate the fact that we would not know each other if we had not had children born with fibular hemimelia. It’s impossible for me to imagine any other life or any other child.

Speaking of that child, Nicholas is twelve years old today. He is an amazing young man. He has always been amazing. I believe he is still who he was the moment I met him, simply a beautiful soul.

I believe the same of all of my children. Motherhood has been the greatest blessing of my life. Some days can be monotonous. Days can run into one another, sometimes they are long and slow and sometimes they are full and fly. There is always someone who needs something.

I was reminded this week though of what a privilege it is to have been there for my kids, in countless ways, over countless days. Some mothers don’t get to have the everydayness of motherhood. Some mothers suffer the absence of their children in a way that my heart can hardly fathom. I attended an amazing event on Friday, the TEDX Wilmington Salon on Second Chances. Each and every talk given had a profound impact on me and made me think about the impact I can make in this world, the impact I have made, and what my second act might really look like. What a gift to even get to ponder such things!

As far as motherhood, my current and always and forever act goes, I sometimes wonder if I am doing enough or being enough, when life is pulling me in all kinds of directions. Especially now as I work to get my MSW and shift energy into dreams that do not include my children, at least at first glance.

This quote by Cheryl Strayed was shared by Elizabeth Gilbert on Facebook this week and I just love it and really needed it at the moment I saw it:

I fully believe that one of the greatest gifts I’ve given my children is the example of a mother who pursues her passions like a motherf***er.

Gilbert and Strayed are both authors that I have found exceptionally inspiring! This quote helped me to feel good about the time and commitment I am giving to what I know will be my life’s work. Motherhood has been my life for twelve years. I wouldn’t change that for anything but I am so glad there are other mothers out there who serve as examples form me of being a mother, (because I do feel it is a matter of being), and working in the world out side the of our homes and families figuratively and literally.

I am so grateful for yesterday, today and tomorrow. All the moments that make up my motherhood journey, all the moments yet to come, and all that is the boy who made me a mom.

One thought on “Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow”

  1. oh, the places you’ve been. oh, the places you’ll go. I love you, sweetie. and I’m so proud of what you’ve done and what you’re going to do. (and Happy birthday, Nick)

    Like

Comments are closed.